Canyonlands: Tales from Narrow Places

A Sunday stroll in Sierra Canyon

Posted in Southern & Central Arizona by canyoneering on November 22, 2010

Sierra Canyon, 3BIII
4.25 miles
Tonto National Forest – Superstition Wilderness, tributary Lower Fish Creek
10/24/10

.

Until about a year ago when I read something about it on the ACA’s website, I was unaware of this canyon right in my backyard, even though I had crossed it several times on my way to other canyons. Mike and I went to check it out on one of the first “cool” Sonoran Desert days of the Fall. Despite its close proximity to home, the canyon has a rugged wilderness character, a beautiful section of Superstition narrows and some really cool caves. The canyon was full of water, so Mike and I took turns rappelling to check water depths and then the other would jump several of the drops. Props go to the group or groups who set some really creative natural anchors in this canyon. With only two people we moved real fast and were home for the start of the Vikings and Packers game on Sunday night.

-David

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Abby said, on November 22, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    How close to home? Is it difficult? Would a beginner be able to conquer this canyon? I’m just thinking ahead to the next time you take me into a canyon.


Leave a Reply

