Canyonlands: Tales from Narrow Places

All smiles in the Jug

Posted in Southern & Central Arizona by canyoneering on May 22, 2010

The Jug of Salome Creek, 3CII
5 miles
Tonto National Forest – Salome Wilderness Area
05/17/10


When my sister, Abby told me she was coming to visit us in Arizona along with her British boyfriend, Gavin I was excited because the time of year was perfect for a descent of the Jug of Salome Creek. David and I took David’s sister and father down the Jug last year, so I was looking forward to sharing the experience with my sister. I hold a special place in my heart for the Jug because it is the first technical canyon I ever did before I even knew what canyoneering was and it is the first place I ever rappelled. After that first time, David and I were immediately hooked on canyoneering, so it is awesome when we take newbie friends and family who get just as excited about the sport as we are.

As we geared up at the trailhead, David noticed the faint sound of air hissing out of one of our tires. It would be the second time we have gotten a flat tire from the dirt road approach to the Jug, a road that is well graded but covered in tiny, razor sharp rocks. Not allowing it to ruin our day we decided to deal with the flat after we returned and made our way to the canyon under an intense sun. Clad in their wetsuits and helmets, Abby and Gavin were all smiles from the very start of the adventure. In my opinion, some of the most fun parts of the canyon are in the beginning with all the natural water slides, pink canyon walls and clear, deep, pools that were very comfortable on this day.

Before the one and only rappel we took a quick break to go over rappelling 101 with Abby and Gavin. They both seemed a little nervous and a lot excited. I went first so I could get photos of Abby and Gavin as they rapped down. It was really cool to see the pride and sense of accomplishment Abby had as she made it safely into the water and off the rope.

As we sat and ate lunch looking back at the mouth of the canyon Abby said that going down the Jug was one of the coolest things she had ever done. It doesn’t get much better than that.

-Laura

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Abby Segall said, on May 22, 2010 at 2:29 am

    One of the best experiences of my life and one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen, and I have been many places.

  2. Liz Segall said, on May 22, 2010 at 2:55 am

    I have to admit, it does look like fun!

  3. Stephen Schwartz said, on May 22, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Can’t say much for Gavin’s outfit though! 🙂

  4. […] particularly excited to share another adventure with Abby who fell in love with the sport in the Jug last May while visiting from Boston. Sierra was certainly a step up in difficulty from the Jug, but […]


Leave a comment