Canyonlands: Tales from Narrow Places

Snow on the Grand Canyon

Posted in Northern Arizona & the Mogollon Rim by canyoneering on December 23, 2009

South rim, Grand Canyon National Park
12/22/09

.

The Grand Canyon is a spectacular sight to behold. I have had a chance to visit the park on a number of occasions since living in Arizona. Each time I visit the canyon I have my breath taken away by its beauty and grandeur.  I have always wanted to see the canyon covered in snow. This week I got my wish. I tagged along with David while he was working on a travel story for the Arizona Republic. We drove up Monday and while David was shooting I went for a walk along the Rim Trail. The weather was cold but pleasant and there was some snow on the canyon but it was not exactly how I had envisioned the grand snow covered canyon. The Grand Canyon got several inches overnight as we slept. Tuesday morning we woke to a picture perfect postcard better than I could have imagined. The powder white snow decorated the trees along the rim and wispy clouds hovered throughout the canyon. While David finished his travel assignment I walked around the south rim and took about a million pictures. Standing in one place the canyon would change before my eyes, as clouds would blow in and out, blue sky peaking through then abruptly disappearing.

-Laura

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Steve Schwartz said, on December 23, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    “David on assignment” – tough job!

    LAURA, you look a lot like your mom (but I guess you knew that).

    So how far down do you have to hike until you lose the snow? A long time ago our family vacationed at the Grand Canyon, south rim (in the spring or the fall). I hiked about 3/4 of the way down the Bright Angel trail (to an oasis of some sort I recollect). There was snow scattered around at the top when I began, but it didn’t take too long before the weather was warm – desert-like in fact.

  2. Alley Kaye said, on December 23, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    What exquisite photos these are, Laura – thank you for sharing them! The Grand Canyon truly does look best in white. Have a Merry Christmas…

  3. Eric Luth said, on December 23, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    I am extremely jealous of you guys. What an awesome present for the holidays. I too have always dreamt of a white canyon and this is beyond picture perfect. Great photos

  4. Roberto Ramirez-Avila said, on December 24, 2009 at 4:57 am

    Hi guys!!!

    I found your beautiful photos in Flickr and just follow your link to this wonderful blog.
    I live in Tijuana, Mexico and about 20 years ago we visit the Grand Canyon for the first time and hiked the Bright Angel trail down to the river and back all in the same day (from 4 am to 11 PM) of course I was younger!!!
    I returned in 2006 and I promised myself that I would go back in winter
    Maybe in this winter, after getting a new car we’ll do the travel.
    Meanwhile we traveled the Ruta Maya (Mayan Route) in November, 2009, you can see the pictures and read our adventures in the blog that we wrote for that occasion (http://viajeporelmayab.blogspot.com ) it’s in Spanish, but we put a translator for you to read it and the photos are in Flickr (we have a link in the blog).
    Keep the good adventures!!!
    Happy Holidays and big hugs from Tijuana, Mexico

    Robert + Ira


Leave a Reply

