Canyonlands: Tales from Narrow Places

Getting hooked in Christopher Creek Canyon

Posted in Northern Arizona & the Mogollon Rim by canyoneering on May 22, 2009

Christopher Creek Canyon, 3CII
Tonto National Forest
2.8 miles
08/20/07, 09/09/07, 08/03/08

.

Christopher Creek Canyon was one of my first technical canyon descents and since then I have traveled down this water filled gorge several times. It is a fun, fairly straightforward swift water canyon that features rappels, water slides, swims and jumps. It is an example of how diverse Arizona’s canyons are. Within 60 miles are a number of other canyons that are completely different in geology, vegetation and water characteristics. What is personally significant about Christopher Creek Canyon is that during my first descent of this canyon was when I realized that canyoneering was more than a sport I was just trying out for a weekend. Following that first descent I began purchasing equipment as if involved in a canyoneering arms race.  I began learning about skills and techniques beyond my most basic rappelling knowledge. I had caught the bug and there was no turning back.

-David

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glenn said, on July 1, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Hey there,

    I would like to sign up for your site, nicely done. The AZ community is fairly small so it is good to stay connected.

    Have you seen this post below? Maybe you know sara? she is trying to get folks together for a clean up. Interested?

    Thanks for your efforts on the web site. I will send trip reports as I go as well,

    Glenn

    I did Wilbur yesterday, and that graffiti in the West Clear Creek exit is some of the brightest paint I’ve ever seen. Couldn’t believe it. Was my first time in the area, so wasn’t sure how new it was, but judging by how bright that orange was I guess it had to be pretty recent. Horrible.

    Lars

    > Bright orange 2-4 foot long, spray painted hearts from Wilbur down to the Calloway Trail head. We counted 8 total. I’ll have pictures of the canyon and the orange graffiti uploaded by later today.
    >
    Back to top
    Reply to sender | Reply to group | Reply via web post
    Messages in this topic (7)
    3b.
    Re: More Nasty Graffiti
    Posted by: “nonot_98” nonot8946@hotmail.com nonot_98
    Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:52 pm (PDT)

    The orange LTTL graffiti is from some idiot who likely lives near Sedona or Prescott. I’ve seen it in Beaver Canyon, it’s been spotted near several Sedona arches/bridges, and now it is reported in Wilbur Canyon. This jackass must be stopped.

    — In canyons@yahoogroups.com, “larsmpeterson” wrote:
    >
    > I did Wilbur yesterday, and that graffiti in the West Clear Creek exit is some of the brightest paint I’ve ever seen. Couldn’t believe it. Was my first time in the area, so wasn’t sure how new it was, but judging by how bright that orange was I guess it had to be pretty recent. Horrible.
    >
    > Lars
    >
    > > Bright orange 2-4 foot long, spray painted hearts from Wilbur down to the Calloway Trail head. We counted 8 total. I’ll have pictures of the canyon and the orange graffiti uploaded by later today.
    > >

  2. Eric Luth said, on November 27, 2009 at 3:57 am

    One of the best quotes on the whole site: “as if involved in a canyoneering arms race.” No doubt, and still dont have everything ….. will we ever???


Leave a Reply

